More or Less

I am really cutting it fine this week with my Less is More Challenge but it has been one of those weeks. This weekend the church has a flower festival, a concert commemorating WW1 in music and verse and the Remembrance Sunday services. I have been putting together the PowerPoint for the concert, not easily done as the running order kept changing!  Next weekend is the church’s Christmas Fair and I have been busy making gift bags and boxes for my stall. Also it was back to school this week so the usual planning has had to be fitted in and a couple of meetings as well!  With all that going on is it any wonder that I managed to order the wrong ink for my printer (it is now completely dry!) and fall of a table!

So taking out a moment of calm I have made my entry for this week’s Less is More challenge, I hope you like it.

SAM_0897 watermarked

Materials used:
Deedee’s Digi Stamps – Happy Trails
Printing card
A5 white card blank
Vintage Photo distress ink
type lyrics for the Cowboy Carol
Husbands printer! (Mine is dry remember!)

Method:
I needed a really quick card today so I used the coloured images rather than colour in the line images myself. The cactus is not as tall as that but with the boots in front of it I could make it higher on the page. Having arranged my words and images on the page I printed them out and trimmed them slightly smaller than the card blank.

Using the distress ink I inked around the edges of the card blank with a brush and also used a piece of cut and dry foam to ink the edge of the layer, which I then stuck to the front of the card blank.

The theme for the Less is More challenge this week is none traditional Christmas, no red or green, so I am hoping to get away with the green cactus (it’s not really a Christmas green!) So fingers crossed.

Here is the card again but this time I have tried to recolour the cactus so it is not so green. I was going to make it browner but with the brown hat and boots it was too much.

SAM_0897 recoloured watermarked

Thanks for visiting. Take care.

Pippa

I would like to enter this card into Less is More’s Non-traditional Colour Christmas Card

About Pippa

I started crafting at an early age though not always successfully, my pillowcase tennis dress has, thankfully, disappeared into history. Funnily sewing is not something I enjoy! My favourite crafty activity has to be card making, especially stamping which I have been doing for over 20 years and am still a beginner, there is always something new to learn. I also enjoy knitting and crochet. I am not an artist, cannot even draw a straight line with a ruler, but I love colouring in, which is why stamping appeals so much. I am married, have recently retired from being a part time HLTA at a local village primary school, have two grown up daughters, both married and a mad cat called Finnegan. That, in a nutshell, is me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to More or Less

  1. Maarit says:

    Gorgeous card, I like the image.

    Love and hugs
    Maarit

  2. jmhave44 says:

    What a wonderful use with this nifty DeeDee’s digi. Love how you’ve added that lovely cowboy verse (?song?). It really fit with the boots & cactus, and the words are so pretty & inspiring too. Gosh, you’ve been busy, at least you are accomplishing lots. I feel as though I’m just spinning my wheels. Your image looks fine to me for a non-traditional Christmas. I expect lots of our western states may have a cactus rather than a fir tree to decorate!!! TFS & Happy wkend. Hugs

    • Pippa says:

      Thanks Mary. The carol is one I had in a very old children’s carol music book from when I was little. I have not heard it being sung in quite a while now so I think it has dropped out of the popularity ratings! The words are inspirational and not obviously Christmassy – but then neither is the card!

  3. Anne Ray says:

    What a gorgeous non-trad card (even though it has green lol!)
    Sorry to be so late commenting this week, thanks so much for your LIM entry
    Anne
    Less is More Designer

  4. chrissieann says:

    I don’t know how I managed to miss commenting on this last week!
    This is just terrific… what an unusual and fab card!
    Thanks so much
    Chrissie
    “Less is More”

Thank you for your comments. They are appreciated.

