Warning: Photo heavy post!

You may remember that months ago I gave a little tease about my entry into the Crafter’s Inspiration Magazine competition, well at the risk of sounding as if I am blowing my own trumpet I earned a Highly Commended with it.  Since the original post was back in May I have forgotten what I did exactly to make it. I know I had to use something from the free kit that came with the magazine and that I used a digi stamp, coloured with Spectrum Noir pens, and some backing paper. I also used some other stamps from my stash and a lot of Kraft Card and a scoring board.  At the risk of boring everyone all I can do is to post a lot of photos – you have been warned!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

The outside

Secret side drawer

Secret side drawer

Contents of secret drawer

Contents of secret drawer

Treasure map

Treasure map

Off comes the lid

Off comes the lid

Inside the chest

Inside the chest

The inside comes out

The inside comes out

All the pieces

All the pieces

A closer view of the inside

A closer view of the inside

I had a lot of fun making my treasure chest, trying to work out how to make the chest itself was the hardest part! I deliberately designed it so the inside pirate could come out so that the chest sides could be sealed up to make a useful chest for putting bits and pieces in. I am not sure that I will ever get around to making another one though!

Thank you for dropping in. Take care.

Pippa

About Pippa

I started crafting at an early age though not always successfully, my pillowcase tennis dress has, thankfully, disappeared into history. Funnily sewing is not something I enjoy! My favourite crafty activity has to be card making, especially stamping which I have been doing for over 20 years and am still a beginner, there is always something new to learn. I also enjoy knitting and crochet. I am not an artist, cannot even draw a straight line with a ruler, but I love colouring in, which is why stamping appeals so much. I am married, have recently retired from being a part time HLTA at a local village primary school, have two grown up daughters, both married and a mad cat called Finnegan. That, in a nutshell, is me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Warning: Photo heavy post!

  1. jmhave44 says:

    What a wonderful accolade you’ve achieved by submitting your project to this magazine. This looks to be quite an involved project, with lots of planning of design, colors & scoring folds to make it work just properly. It’s very clever & oh so cute. Well done you, and thanks for sharing your win with us. Very proud of you indeed, and so should you be!! TFS & Hugs (you’re more courageous than I would be. I’d never attempt something this complex – so I’m awestruck with this).

    • Pippa says:

      Mary, thank you for your kind comment. I must admit there were times when I wondered what on earth I was trying to do and why didn’t I decide to do something much simpler! But I am glad I stuck at it, I learnt quite a lot along the way, (never again comes to mind!), and it was fun in the end.

Thank you for your comments. They are appreciated.

