Thank you Craftasmic

Craftasmic, my local(ish) craft shop is holding Spectrum Noir Colourist Workshops over the next four months. The first one was yesterday and it inspired me to be a bit more ambitious with my colouring. This card is the result.


Materials Used:
Stamps – Daffodil and Spring is Sprung – Dimension Stamps
Adirondack Inks: Slate, Stonewashed, Lettuce
Memento Inks: Tuxedo Black
X-Cut Dies: Scalloped Oval
Spectrum Noir Pens: DG1, DG3, CG2, CT1, CT2, CT3, CT4
Neenah white card

A close up view of the flower head
to show the shading.

Method:    
I made an A5 card blank from the Neenah card, a mask of the daffodil stamp and an oval mask using the die and a piece of paper. I positioned the aperture in the paper mask on the card blank and stamped the daffodil through it. Keeping the aperture mask in place I covered the daffodil with its mask then used Stonewashed and Lettuce inks with a brush and make up sponge to place the grass and sky.


The coloured daffodil and oval frame







I then used the pens to colour in the daffodil before masking it off with the oval shape cut from the aperture mask. Using Slate and a stencil brush I brushed around the mask to try to get a 3D effect. Finally I stamped the words underneath.


The finished card

Thank you for dropping in.  Take care.

Pippa

I would like to enter this card into the Les is More Challenge: Single Layer – Spring Flowers

About Pippa

I started crafting at an early age though not always successfully, my pillowcase tennis dress has, thankfully, disappeared into history. Funnily sewing is not something I enjoy! My favourite crafty activity has to be card making, especially stamping which I have been doing for over 20 years and am still a beginner, there is always something new to learn. I also enjoy knitting and crochet. I am not an artist, cannot even draw a straight line with a ruler, but I love colouring in, which is why stamping appeals so much. I am married, a part time HLTA at a local village primary school, have two grown up daughters, one son-in-law and a mad cat called Finnegan. That, in a nutshell, is me.
This entry was posted in stamping. Bookmark the permalink.

Thank you for your comments. They are appreciated.

